Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Distinguished Service Award was established in 1986 to honor a faculty member, administrator or staff member for his or her outstanding service in keeping with the principles and ideals of Dr. King.  While the award is a tremendous honor, it also carries a $1,000 stipend for the recipient. Click here to learn more about the process to nominate a faculty or staff member for the award.

Distinguished Service Award Past Recipients

2016 Dr. Bruce Lamont College of Business
2015 Dr. Rhea Lathan Department of English
2014 Dr. Penny Ralston College of Human Sciences
2013 Dr. Kendall Campbell College of Medicine
2012 Mr. Jimmy Pastrano Educational Leadership & Policy Studies Department
2011 Ms. Vanessa Solomon The Center for Leadership and Social Change
2010 Dr. Maxine Montgomery College of Arts & Sciences
2009 Dr. Tamara Bertrand Jone College of Education
2008 Dr. Jose Rodriguez College of Education
2007 Dr. Davis Houck College of Communication
2006 Retha Bowman Building Services
2005 Angela Richardson Center for Academic Retention & Enhancement
2004 Roberta Christie International Center
2003 Earle Lee Boys' Choir
2002 Jenice Rankins Nutrition, Food & Exercise Science
2001 Billy R. Close Department of Criminology
2000 Edward Love Sculptor
1999 Dr. Jawole Willa Jo Zollar Department of Dance
1998 Joy M. Bowen Student Affairs
1997 Sheila Ortiz-Taylor Department of English
1996 Andre J. Thomas College of Music
1995 Fred Seamon Public Administration
1994 R. Bruce Bickley, Jr. Department of English
1993 Freddie Groomes Office of Human Resources
1992 Sandra Rackley Office of Undergraduate Studies
1991 Joe M. Richardson History 
1990 Melvin T. Stith Marketing
1989 Douglas G. St. Angelo History
1989 Maxine D. Jones Political Science
1987 Na'im Akbar Psychology
1986 William R. Jones Black Studies
Legacy Sort
Legacy Priority